“NOT ONE STEP BACK”: A Public Briefing with Sinn Féin’s Newly Elected MPs

This event has now taken place

Wednesday 14th June 2017, 7:00pm

With Mickey Brady MP, Michelle Gildernew MP, Chris Hazzard MP, Elisha McCallion MP, Barry McElduff MP, Paul Maskey MP, and Francie Molloy MP

The Presidential Suite, The London Irish Centre,
50-52 Camden Square, London NW1 9XB


    Last Thursday’s Westminster Election was another watershed election for Sinn Féin. It was significant election with the Sinn Féin vote increasing in all constituencies and electing seven abstentionist MPs – Mickey Brady, Michelle Gildernew, Chris Hazzard, Elisha McCallion, Barry McElduff, Paul Maskey, and Francie Molloy. For the first time since the foundation of the state the unionist vote was less than 50% in a Westminster election.
    The election demonstrated that Irish Nationalists and Republicans in the North have turned their back on Westminster and now recognise that that centre of political gravity is on the island of Ireland.
    Theresa May sought to secure a mandate for Brexit, austerity and the erosion of human rights. She got her comeuppance on Thursday.
    Now the Irish government needs to seize the initiative to secure designated special status for the North as part of the Brexit negotiations.
    Dublin also has a responsibility to ensure that the British government ends its support for the DUP’s denial of rights to Irish citizens which are the norm in every other part of these islands.
    Sinn Féin’s focus will remain on re-establishing an Executive in the North which delivers for all on the basis of equality, respect and integrity and this requires the full implementation of agreements on rights and legacy.
    The evening will be a chance to discuss the changed political landscape and to hear about how pro-Good Friday Agreement voices and members of the Irish Community in Britain can make a positive contribution to taking us forward.

All welcome – please share with friends and colleagues!

RSVP by emailing: joseph.dwyer@parliament.uk.
A Facebook Event Page can be found HERE.